PennStateHoops.com Discussion Forum

Way OT - football helmets

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/01/23/sports/football/23helmet.html?src=sch&pagewanted=all

I believe that football is headed the way of boxing, which was once on top of the sporting heap, but now is kind of a niche sport that seems to disgust casual sports fans. Players have gotten too big and too fast to make it safe in any real way, I think.

Of course, it’s got a few years left. Hit all time popularity levels this year. :slight_smile:

There are an article recently that suggested the new helmet that some claim provide more safety in fact don’t help anything at all.

I’m with you TJB, I’ve been calling for the demise of football for several years now. It’s obviously going to take some time as a lot of new fans (mostly wives and grandmothers) have really just gotten into it recently, but they are making the same mistakes a lot of other leagues have and I have really lost interest in the game as a result. I see it starting to get to other people more recently now also, and I think it’s just a matter of time until they truly jump the shark on this league - maybe a lockout would be the straw to break the camel’s back.

My question is…are people really getting more concussions? Or are concussions just now being more correctly diagnosed and screened for?

I totally agree.

When my boys were younger, (the occasion might have been a sports physical for an upcoming baseball season) my sons’ pediatrician mentioned that the national pediatrics association to which he belonged, had tried to get football classified by the AMA, in the same category as boxing, as far as football being a health threat. Specifically, that playing football was as dangerous to the brain as was getting repeatedly punched in the head.