PennStateHoops.com Discussion Forum

Public - vs - Private HS debate

Looks like Ohio is considering separating playoffs. I think the PIAA should take notice…Private schools cheat!!

Check out Mike White blog:

http://blogs.sites.post-gazette.com/index.php/sports/varsity-blog/21058

I didn’t read the link, but as a State High grad I saw a lot of the public/private school football matchups. I’ve always been a fan of splitting the two up. No reason to let schools that go out and collect kids beat up on small public schools. State high only beat them bc the school was so big.

Way back when, the Catholic schools had their own playoffs - PCIAA playoffs I think it was. Even back then, a lot of the Catholic schools recruited and stockpiled players. Kids would come from a hundred miles away (or even out of state), move in with a local family and enroll in a Catholic school.

Bonus points to anyone who knows where Digger Phelps won a PCIAA in his first head coaching job out of college.

[quote=“Great Santini, post:3, topic:1321”]Way back when, the Catholic schools had their own playoffs - PCIAA playoffs I think it was. Even back then, a lot of the Catholic schools recruited and stockpiled players. Kids would come from a hundred miles away (or even out of state), move in with a local family and enroll in a Catholic school.

Bonus points to anyone who knows where Digger Phelps won a PCIAA in his first head coaching job out of college.[/quote]

I remember the Catholic leagues and play-offs in the 60, and early 70’s in western Pa. Don’t remember when they stopped. I don’t know the answer to the Digger question but I would guess the Philly area because his first college job was as an Asst at Penn. In 1970 while at Fordham Digger had 3 or 4 western Pa kids. He continued to recruit Western Pa hard in his ND years. I remember L. Stahurski (sp) from St Basil and D. Clay from 5th Avenue HS went to ND.