PennStateHoops.com Discussion Forum

Pa. High School Hoops

Not surprising RC is ranked # 1 in AAAA.

Bullock’s PIAA Power Rankings: Dec. 14

http://www.cityofbasketballlove.com/news_article/show/589008?referrer_id=1566508

I really can’t wait for PA to go to 6 classes. Seeing my alma mater, Salisbury High School in Allentown, PA, get stuck in AAA bugs me.

They’ll be AAAA next year with an enrollment of 221. 218-219 is the cut off for AAA-AAAA Boys basketball.

[quote="rwd5035, post:2, topic:4614"]I really can't wait for PA to go to 6 classes. Seeing my alma mater, Salisbury High School in Allentown, PA, get stuck in AAA bugs me.[/quote]

They’ll be AAAA next year with an enrollment of 221. 218-219 is the cut off for AAA-AAAA Boys basketball.

That’s even crazier. I can’t speak to knowing Salisbury’s class numbers anymore, but I graduated with 149 in 2006. I’m not sure they’re over 220 or not, but when you consider just how large some of those AAAA schools are, it’s criminal to have a school as small as Salisbury competing potentially with Parkland in AAAA playoffs.

Um, you do realize that schools that are AAAA this year will be AAAAAA or AAAAA next year?

The largest enrollment for the new AAAA is Ben Franklin and Engin & Science with 320. So the AAAA class for boys basketball will cover enrollment from 219 to 320.

Parkland will by AAAAAA with an enrollment of 1256. 7th highest in the state.

6A: 504-1770
5A: 323-502
4A: 219-320
3A: 151-218
2A: 96-149
1A: 7-94

Current four tier structure
4A: 413-2138
3A: 135-411
2A; 112-234
1A; 9-125

I completely just fluffed in reading what you wrote and completely disregarded that they are going to 6 classes next year.

The best idea I had heard so far in regards to having private/Catholic schools in the classes…