PennStateHoops.com Discussion Forum

OT - Music Thread

I figure we have a movie thread, maybe a music thread wouldn’t be so bad. I learned that TJB is a guitarist, I wonder how many other musicians we have on the site? I’ve played for about 15 years now, although I’m not nearly as good as I should be.

Skeeza’s post about not listening to the radio anymore made me think we could use a music thread, especially during the offseason.

(tim, please delete if you don’t want too many of these OT threads popping up…I don’t know how it affects bandwidth/annual cost)

Here are a few new groups/people I’m really into that you probably won’t find on the radio.

The Band of Heathens “Somebody Tell the Truth”

I’m a bit of a movie and music snob, so I think i’ll just avoid these threads as much as possible. :slight_smile:

I do pretend to play the guitar (self taught and I rarely pick it up recently), and I took piano lessons for a few years growing up - but I’m not a musician by any stretch. Just someone who enjoys a wide selection of music people have never heard of and probably wouldn’t enjoy. I’m what you might call a hipster of sorts, although I don’t drink PBR.

My family is full of musicians (and if you are familiar with the Centre County music scene over the years, you may know one of them). Unfortunately I didn’t get that talent.

More mainstream, I saw Mumford and Sons at Jazzfest last weekend, definitely one of the more talented bands I’ve seen. If you haven’t heard of them, check them out. Quite the eclectic combination of musical influences and even instrument choice.

Real hipsters drink HighLife :wink:

Ok, my last contribution until/unless the thread takes off.

Jonathon Tyler and the Northern Lights. These guys will steal your candy and not feel bad about it.

Gypsy Woman by Jonathan Tyler and The Northern Lights