PennStateHoops.com Discussion Forum

Ot -- mlk

Saw Coach Preston tweeted something about MLK.

So much has changed for us old guys.

My school district in Coatesville, Pa., was segregated when I began elementary school. White kids were bused away from their neighborhood schools to achieve this. My father worked in administration when the school board voluntarily desegregated. My Sunday School teacher picketed the decision outside my elementary school classroom window. Every school board member lost his (they were all men) re-election bid.

The theater in Coatesville required black customers to sit in the balcony.

Martin Luther King “I have a dream”

And when I was a freshman at Penn State, I used to go to the audio library in the basement of Pinchot in East Halls to listen to that speech on cassette tape - which seemed a technological marvel to me at the time.

And before I turned 50, the United States elected a black man president!

The sports world has changed, too. Black quarterbacks once had to beat back the stereotype that they were not smart enough for the position (that one makes me sick to even type), black basketball coaches were once rare, and black football coaches were non-existent (and are still rare), in part because the position required PR with influential alumni, and it was “thought” that a black coach would distance the “program” from the money people.

I dream of a world where a black coach can be just as bad as a white one – and we may be there! :slight_smile:

http://onwardstate.com/2009/11/09/we-are-penn-state/

When I was growing up we had two black kids in my whole school district. My buddy Sean and his sister. By the time I got to HS we had 7. A pair of brothers and their female cousins. I remember talking to the one brother before a dance and realizing what a tough go they had. At that time inter-racial affairs were not a very welcomed occurance.