Brent Musberger

Brent is living proof that you don’t need to know much about sports to be a big time broadcaster. My friends and I have been saying the same thing about Brent for the last 30 years.

Speaking of commentators, I thought Knight did a pretty great job tonight on the Badgers/Blue Devils game.

He’s an absolute joy as an analyst.

[quote="bstanf, post:2, topic:403"]Speaking of commentators, I thought Knight did a pretty great job tonight on the Badgers/Blue Devils game.[/quote]

I agree. Knight was really good tonight. Both he and Brent were great to listen to, though Brent got a little rah-rah Big Ten. I guess that balances out Vitale’s ACC slobberings all over the ESPN air waves.

BTW, I’ve always liked Musberger. He’ll get a bad rap at times, but he brings a genuine excitement and entertainment to the telecast.

No Brent Musberger thread is complete without a link to the Brent Musberger Drinking Game ;D

^^^ This is the correct answer.

I just watched the game on tape. Knight was “on his game” last night. Many great game insights. BUT, in the past I have see Booby K. broadcast games that he did not seem to “want to be there” and thus his broadcasting was very dark.
I just don’t like Brent. I will admit he is a broadcasting “talent.” But I don’t like his “all hype” style. I was surprised how little play-by-play he actually did. He basically just “summarizes big pictures” instead of broadcaster the actual playing of the game. The “big pictures” he keep summarizing were…Bobby Knight’s great prior coaching career, College football, basketball conference prestige, etc, etc. I don’t mind his talking about about these topics. In the “dead time.” He hyped during playing of a very entertaining game.